Facts about United Kingdom 3

Bloody Sunday 3

Brexit 4

World Wide Web (WWW) Error! Bookmark not defined.

The outcome of World War 2 (WW2) Error! Bookmark not defined.

Bibliography: 5

Facts about United Kingdom
The United Kingdom is a country in Western Europe.

Britain is made up of the island of the same name, the northeast of the island of Ireland, and a large number of smaller islands.

Northern Ireland, as the only part of the United Kingdom, shares a land border with another country, the Republic of Ireland.

Britain is except for the aforementioned land border surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean with the North Sea to the east, the English Channel to the south, and the Celtic Sea to the south and southwest.

The country thus has the world's 12th longest coastline. Between Great Britain and Ireland lies the Irish Sea. Britain, with its 242,000 square kilometers, is the world's 78th largest and Europe's 11th largest country.

With its 65.1 million inhabitants, it is the 21st most populous country in the world. Thus, the UK has the 4th highest population density in the EU.

Britain is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. The monarch is Queen Elizabeth II, who has ruled since February 6, 1952.

The capital of The United Kingdom, as well as the largest city, is London, a world city and an important financial center. London, with its 10.3 million inhabitants, is Europe's 4th largest and the EU's 2nd largest city.

The United Kingdom consists of four united countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

The nearby isles of the Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Guernsey, and Bailiwick of Jersey are not officially part of Britain, but so-called crown holdings, where the British government is responsible for defense and international representation.